Multi-user Editing

GISquirrel allows multiple users to work on the same spatial dataset(s) simultaneously. Editing is done using the normal ArcMap editing tools, but with a slightly different way of starting the editing session. Layers can be edited individually or in groups. To edit existing features, simply select them first and then start an editing session. These features are locked until you stop editing, to prevent other users from editing them at the same time (though note that this behaviour can be over-ridden if desired – see the section on special fields for more details). To create new features, start an GISquirrel editing session and use your ArcMap editing tools as usual.

During the editing session, editing is actually working in a temporary geodatabase stored in the user’s %TEMP% folder. This contains any features selected before you started editing, plus any new features you create. During the editing session, any features selected for editing are hidden in the “master” layer to avoid confusion (by applying a definition query to the layer, such as “FID NOT IN (10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20)”). The master layer can also be switched off to help see only what is being edited, but do remember to switch it on again when edits are saved.

When you stop editing, features are checked back into the source table and the features are unlocked.

GISquirrel maintains some useful feature-level metadata during editing sessions. Each feature holds data about who last edited it and when, and it is also possible to see who has features locked out for editing.

Modified 9/5/2013
Site Map | Printable View | © 2008 - 2018 exeGesIS SDM Ltd